Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I'd Read With My (YA) Book Club...If I Had One.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week's Top Ten topic is, "ten books I'd love to read with my book club". I'm not in one, but if I was, I could think of several books I'd like to read with one. Some of the books on this list I've already read and I wouldn't mind re-reading and discussing, and some I haven't read yet, but I'd love to experience them along with others. All of these books are thought provoking and would provide plenty of great discussions. When picking books for a book club you have to choose books that appeal to many different types of people. I definitely took that into consideration. If YOU have a book club and are looking for ideas, well, here you go.

Here's what I'd read with my book club:

None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

This isn't released until April 7th, so this will be for a future meeting of my imaginary book club.

I have read this, and I think that everyone else on this planet should, too. It takes a subject that is completely misunderstood and carefully informs and enlightens readers about it while providing a beautiful story of self-discovery, strength and acceptance. This book is SO, SO important. If there is any reason to start a book club, it's so that more people can read and talk about None of the Above

Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy

Not that long ago, everyone in a book club was reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This book, Side Effects May Vary, is also about a girl diagnosed with terminal cancer, but it's a bit different. Her cancer goes into remission and she's suddenly faced with the fact that she's not going anywhere. Unfortunately, she only knows how to live like she's dying, she's forgotten how to just live. She also convinced her best friend to help her complete a bucket list and she now has to deal with the consequences of  the things she's said and done. Yes, I've read it, but I think it would make an excellent book for discussion, It's a whole different perspective compared to TFiOS. 

I'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios 

This is one I haven't read yet (it's available February 3rd), but judging from the VERY positive early reviews, it's one to watch out for. It's about a girl with an uncertain future and a wounded ex-Marine who meet while working in a quirky hotel. It's supposed to be heartbreaking and hopeful. I can't wait to read it and it sounds like a great book club pick.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

This book opened my eyes to the things around me that I took for granted. It made me a better person.

This is about courage, friendship, loss, freedom and feminism. I have read this, but I've seen so many interpretations of this book from different people. This book is like a mirror, you see what is reflected from inside of you in it. I'm curious about what others get out of this story and how it differs from what I did.

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

"A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell."
No, I haven't read this yet (shame on me!), but so many people have been raving about it and telling me I MUST read it. It sounds like a perfect book club book, too.  

Unwind (Unwind Dystology #1) by Neal Shusterman

Because everyone has read The Hunger Games (or watched the movies) and there's a great big dystopian void that needs to filled. Unwind is the perfect book to fill it. It's book one of four. I read it a LONG time ago and I haven't read the rest of the series. I need to re-read Unwind before moving on and in a book club would be a perfect way to do it. MAN was it good! The only reason I haven't read the other books is because it was several years between the release of book 1 and book 2. Books 2, 3 and 4 were released much closer together, but I wanted to re-read book 1 but never got a chance to.

 All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

"This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.
Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!"
I have a feeling we're all going to be reading this one anyway. This was just released and I really want to read it. I think it would be perfect book club material.

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

"...acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a heartbreaking tale of love and loss, magic and mystery, regret and forgiveness—a story about how the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are."
This book uses magical realism to tell the story, so it's contemporary with fantasy elements. The early reviews have been favorable and many people have mentioned it would be a wonderful book for a book club discussions. It's available March 3rd.

Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

This is the newest book by Lauren Oliver, one of my favorite authors. I would love to experience this book for the first time and share and compare thoughts with a book group. It's a psychological thriller! What?! Awesome. It's available March 10th.  

So, what do you think? Would YOU join my book club?

What would you read with yours?

<3 Michelle


  1. Nice! Seeing a lot of YA book clubs so far!

    Here's my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

  2. Great post. I haven't heard of a lot of the books you said, and I'd definitely join your hypothetical book club to find out more ahah

    My tuesday post: http://enchantedbyya.blogspot.co.uk/2015/01/teaser-tuesday-21.html

  3. All these books are new to me but I do love the covers and by the sound of it, they really seem interesting.

    My Top Ten Tuesday!

  4. I haven't read any of these yet. :( There all still on my dying to go to list. Thanks for sharing.

    I accidentally did next week's post on accident, but still check it out please. mine's here

    1. I stopped by your post before I saw this comment and I didn't even notice it was next week's topic! I think I need more coffee!

  5. I have not read any of the books on your list this week... I'll have to check them. I've been adding so many book titles to my reading wishlist today!!

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment on my TTT post this week!! Happy reading!!!

  6. I'm really looking forward to Vanishing Girls! Awesome List!

    My TTT

  7. So many people gush about I'll Give You the Sun. Vanishing Girls sounds so cool! Awesome post:D

  8. Yes to all of these! I would love to read all of these for a book club. :) I'm reading I'll Meet You There right now and it's so good!

  9. I don't generally read a lot of contemporary YA which may be why YA doesn't jump to mind when I think about discussing. Contemporary is where all the issues and dilemmas are dealt with! I have to say Side Effects May Vary and I'll meet you there both look pretty interesting. Your description of Glory O'Brien is also awesome - I love books that do that - can be interpreted in many ways. Good fodder for discussion as well!

  10. Unwind is a such a great book club book because there's so much to talk about. I really want to read Side Effects May Vary, and while I've read I'll Give You The Sun, I'm still not sure how I feel about it. You have a really interesting and varied list. Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier!

    Nicole @ Reading Books With Coffee

  11. Ohh I love this list! SO many on here that I agree with! Unwind for SURE. And All the Bright Places. And yes, definitely I'll Meet You There! And I adore your reason for Glory O'Brien, that is such a great answer, and I do wish more people would read it so I could compare thoughts!

    Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight

  12. As a side note, I like your book blog, so I've nominated you for The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award! Please check out my blog post for more information at the following link:


  13. Side Effects May Vary sounds like such a heartwrenching but interesting book. Also, I'll Give you the Sun has been on my TBR for forever. Great list!

    Kat @ Readiculous Blog

  14. I haven't read any of these... womp, womp! I do have three on my shelves so I need to get to it! I think All The Bright Places will be my airplane read soon. Nothing like a good public ugly cry :p - meghann

  15. Wow, nice list! Yay for our two matching books (I'll Give You the Sun and All the Bright Places) :)
    I'm super excited to read None of the Above. I'm really proud of how open YA literature is to the LGBTQIA+ community, and books like Everything Leads to You by Nina laCour really do the movement justice. I'm glad you enjoyed, I can't wait to read it when it comes out :D
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier~

    - Connie @ The YA Book Thief